Melissa High School

Virtual Academic Expo 2021

Important Dates

Thursday, February 25

Dual Credit Virtual Informational Meeting

Thursday, February 25

Course Request Forms Due for Incoming 12th Grade

Tuesday, March 2

Course Request Forms Due for Incoming 10-11th Grade

All meetings are virtual and will be archived on this website.

Welcome

Melissa ISD students currently in 8th-11th grade, along with parents and guardians, are invited to browse the Melissa High School Virtual Academic Expo during the month of February to gather information about classes and programs offered for the 2021-2022 school year. The Academic Expo is designed to assist students and parents in making informed decisions when selecting classes for the upcoming school year.

This year the Academic Expo is being held virtually due to COVID-19. To learn more about course offerings, browse the video library using the menu links located at the top of every page.

Closed captioning is available for all videos. Written transcripts are also provided below each video segment.

helpful tips for the expo

  • Have your Course Request sheet handy while you view the Expo info.

  • It’s important to take courses within your endorsement area(s): Business & Industry, Arts and Humanities, Public Service, STEM, and/or Multidisciplinary. Determine the courses that interest you and visit those teachers’ videos to learn more about the course.

  • If you have questions about honors courses visit with the our Academic Deans:

English: Emily Chapman, emilychapman@melissaisd.org
Math: Debra Arvin debraarvin@melissaisd.org
Science: Manny Avila, mavila@melissaisd.org
History: Julie Wooten, juliewooten@melissaisd.org
Spanish: Brett Gustaveson, bgustaveson@melissaisd.org
CTE: Doug Bingman, dougbingman@melissaisd.org

  • If you have questions about dual credit courses visit with our counselors:

Alpha A-G: Meredith Easter, mereditheaster@melissaisd.org
Alpha H-M: Christina Stover,
cstover@melissaisd.org
Alpha N-Z: Ruth Kyle,
ruthkyle@melissaisd.org

  • Prioritize your elective courses you wish to take, with number one being your top choice. Follow the instructions on your Course Request sheet as to how many choices to rank.

  • Course Request forms for students currently in 11th grade must be completed and submitted to your history teacher by Thursday, Feb. 25, 2021.

  • Course Request forms for students currently in grades 9-10 must be completed and submitted to your history teacher by Tuesday, March 2, 2021.

  • All 8th graders must also turn in your Course Request forms and your 4 Year Planning Document form to the MMS Main Office by Feb. 19, 2021. This form is located on the last page in the MHS Course Catalog.